North Shore Railway Modellers' Association, Inc


The model railway club for Sydney's North Shore and Northern Beaches


Home        Layouts        Events        Exhibition        Competition        Links 


Page last modified 19 May 2018

Every year we hold a modelling competition open to all members. This year's competition will held on Friday 6 July 2018.

The results of last year's competition were:

Senior division

Locomotives, kit-built, best overall and perpetual trophy winner - Mick Bluett, Railmotor No1 with DCC sound and lights, HO scale

Locomotives, kit-bashed - Stephen Buck, Rail Pay Bus, HO scale

Rolling stock, kit-built, best overall and perpetual trophy winner - Mick Bluett, Composite Coaches 1st Class/2nd Class/Guard, fitted with DCC lighting, O scale

Rolling Stock, improved proprietary - Graeme Bedwin, CFX Carriage, modified, HO Scale

Structures, scratchbuilt - Stephen Buck, Sydney Overhead Mast, HO scale

Structures, kit built - Murray Simpson, Australian Petrol Station, HO scale

Structures, modified proprietary, best overall and perpetual Deric Netting Trophy winner - Bruce Walker, Weatherboard Signal Box (MTB - Goulburn) with extras, HO Scale

Dioramas, scratch built, best overall and perpetual trophy winner - Robyn Taylor, “The well at Cherry Tree Hill” inspired by a site near Mudgee Road, HO scale

The winner of the Alex Mathieson Trophy for the best overall senior modeller was announced at the Annual Dinner on 16 September 2017.

Youth Division

No entries

This year we had 17 entries from 7 of our members. Eleven members were present to vote on the entries.

This year most entries were in the Rolling Stock category, with 7 entries. We had 5 entries for structures and 4 entries for locomotives. The one diorama was a standout for scenic appeal (and a touch of whimsy). O scale models were starting to be present with 5 entries, the rest being HO scale. It was disappointing not to have any entries from our Juniors given the strong attendance and entries in recent previous years.

Congratulations to the winners and our thanks to Andrew King and David Taylor for being scrutineers for the voting.

We were pleased to have Jenny Mathieson attend, vote and discuss various aspects of the models with those present. Each of the Trophies was presented at the Annual Dinner on 16 September.

Contents copyright © 2008 - 2018 North Shore Railway Modellers' Association, Inc.

All rights reserved.